
Rules 8 – 10 Most Missed 
Notes by Matt Arellano. 
#8 - During a play, the team A offensive coordinator is in the restricted area, yelling at his players. The Line 

Judge accidentally collides with the coach. No sideline-related warnings or fouls have occurred to that point. 

(9-4-8 Pen) 

1.     (3, 3.16%) First sideline warning; S15 

2.     (13, 13.68%) 15-yard UC foul; S27-S29 

3.     (2, 2.11%) 15-yard personal foul; S38 

4.     (1, 1.05%) 15-yard UC foul; S27 

5.     (76, 80.00%) 15-yard personal foul; S38-S29 

This is straight out of the definition for sideline interference (9-4-8).  Much like interaction between 
players, when there is contact made during this type of foul, the foul is a personal foul and not an 
unsportsmanlike foul.  Additionally, though sideline interference has its own signal (S29), because if falls 
under the “illegal personal contact” portion of rule 9 (9-4), the signal is preceded by the personal foul 
signal (S38).  This is similar to a roughing the passer signal cadence.  It’s important to note again that this 
should not been deemed an unsportsmanlike foul.  This is because it would count as one of the person’s 
two unsportsmanlike fouls towards disqualification.  
  
  
#13 - A, 2/5, A-30. Receiver A87 goes out of bounds at the A-35 to avoid contacting an official. A87 

immediately returns inbounds at the A-38 and catches a legal forward pass at the A-45, where he is downed. 

ES is (9-6-1, Pen; 9.6.1A; 9.6 Comment) 

1.     (2, 2.13%) A-35 

2.     (9, 9.57%) A-38 

3.     (79, 84.04%) A-30 

4.     (4, 4.26%) A-45 

Regardless of if the official is in the way or not, the player is choosing to go out of bounds of his own 
volition and then returning to the field of play.  This qualifies as Illegal Participation (9-6-1) and is a 15-
yard penalty.  The question is where and how is it enforced?  Because this illegal participation occurred 
during a loose ball play (a passing play – 10-3-1b) the enforcement spot is from the previous spot and 
not the spot of the foul (which is where the player reentered the field). 
  
  
#17 - K, 4/10, K-10. K13 punts the ball. During the kick, K78 and R43 are engaged in blocking at the K-20 

when R43’s helmet comes completely off, not due to a foul. Helmetless R43 continues downfield and blocks 

K55 at the K-30. R41 catches the kick at the K-35 and returns it to the K-15, where he is downed. (2-16-2h, 9-6-

4g, 10-4-3) 

1.     (6, 6.38%) R, 1/10, K-30 

2.     (4, 4.26%) K, 1/10, K-25. PSK does not apply to an R foul for illegal participation 

3.     (80, 85.11%) R, 1/10, 50-yard line 

4.     (4, 4.26%) R, 1/10, K-45 



When a player’s helmet comes off (and he is not the player with the ball), he is required to stop 
participating in the down (9-6-4g).  In this play, R43 continues to participate in the play so he is guilty of 
Illegal Participation.  Specifically where the illegal participation happens is when you feel the player 
continues to play after he knows that his helmet is off (likely when the players disengage from the 
blocking).  It would DEFINITELY be considered illegal participation when he blocks at the K-30.  Either 
way, this is a foul by R during a scrimmage kick and fits all of the criteria of a PSK foul (2-16-2h, 10-4-
3).  Because any spot you deem the foul to be at is beyond where the kick ended, the foul is enforced 
from the end of the kick.  Also, as a side note, because the player’s helmet came off during a play and it 
was not due to a foul, he must sit out the next play (3-5-10d) 
  
  
#12 - A, 2/6, A-20. Quarterback A8 drops back and throws a legal forward pass toward A17, who is at the A-

15. Before the pass reaches A17, B54 tackles A17, and the pass is incomplete. (9-2-3c; 9.2.3C) 

1.     (81, 85.26%) A, 1/10, A-30 

2.     (7, 7.37%) A, 1/10, A-35 

3.     (7, 7.37%) A, 3/6, A-20 

The defensive player arrives before the ball does so clearly we have a foul here. The question is what 
type of foul do we have?  Because the receiver is not beyond the neutral zone, we cannot have pass 
interference (7-5-7).  But the tackle itself still qualifies as a clear case of holding (9-2-3c) 
  
#20 - K, 4/12, K-20. K’s legal scrimmage kick is caught by R89 at the K-48, where he is downed. During the 

kick, a K player committed an illegal BSB at the K-40. R accepts the penalty for K’s foul. (10-4-2a, Exception) 

1.     (12, 12.77%) R, 1/10, K-33 

2.     R, 1/10, K-33 

3.     (82, 87.23%) a or b 

I’m pretty sure that his question was just written wrong.  That said, this is the new rule that allows R to 
have options when R commits a foul before the end of a kick.  Normally a foul that occurs during a loose 
ball play (the kick – 10-3-1a) requires that any accepted penalty be enforced from the previous spot (so 
in the old days, R would have to decline this penalty in order to keep the ball).  Though R does retain 
that option, they now ALSO have the option of having the penalty enforced form the succeeding spot 
(where the K player is downed – 10-4-2a, Exception). 
  
  
#23 - K, 4/7, K-15. K is in a scrimmage kick formation. Immediately after the snap, the nose guard runs 

directly into the snapper. The punter runs to the K-18 and punts. A receiver catches the kick at the K-35 and 

is downed at the K-30. (2-16-2h; 2-24-4; 2-24-9; 2-33; 6-2-1; 9-7-1; 9.7.1A-C; 10-1-1; 10-2-1b; 10-3-1a; 10-3-2; 

10-3-3b; 10-4-2a) 

1.     (4, 4.26%) Fouls offset. R, 1/10, K-30 

2.     (82, 87.23%) Replay the down 

3.     (1, 1.06%) R can retain possession by declining K’s foul. R, 1/10, 50-yard line 

4.     (7, 7.45%) a or b 

Obviously this is roughing the snapper (9-4-6).  However the punter then proceeds to run beyond the 
neutral zone and kick the ball.  This is now also an illegal kick (2-24-9, 6-2-1, 9-7-1).  R doesn’t have the 



right to decline K’s penalty because the foul isn’t a PSK foul (roughing the snapper wasn’t beyond the 
expanded neutral zone – 2-16-2h, 10-2-1b), so what we have here is both teams committing live ball 
fouls during the same down.  This is a double foul and our only option is to replay the down (10-2-1b) 

 


